SWE strives to recognize the successes of SWE members and SWE Sections,  contributing to their workplace and to the local community. We encourage everyone who does exceptional work in developing the community and supporting engineering and other STEM fields to participate. Awards were restructured recently, and SWE CRS is excited to help guide you as an individual on this journey!

If you’re interested in having SWE CRS’s support to be recognized, or in helping to review the recognition of others, submit your information here! Actual submissions open in January, but we’ll be offering support at the end of the year to ensure preparation for these important awards!

Past Awards – 2022

This year’s award recipients will be recognized at WE22, the world’s largest conference and career fair for women engineers and technologists in October. 20-22, 2022 in Houston, TX. The conference will gather more than 14,000 professional and collegiate individuals in engineering and technology for professional development, education, and networking.

SWE Distinguished New Engineer Award – Honors women engineers who have been actively engaged in engineering in the first 10 years of their careers.

  • Anne Rocheleau, Hemex Heath – WE21
  • Irina Belozerova, Thermo Fischer Scientific – WE21
  • Carina Hahn, Intel Corporation – WE20
  • Nikita Tiwari, Intel Corporation – WE20
  • Stephanie W. Chin, Intel Corporation – WE17

Emerging Leader Award – Honors individuals who have been actively engaged in an engineering or technology profession, and have demonstrated outstanding technical excellence as an individual resulting in significant accomplishments.

  • Jianfang (Olena) Zhu, Intel Corporation – WE21
  • Marie Claire Murekatete, Intel Corporation – WE21
  • Erin Carrol, Intel Corporation – WE17

Rising Technical Contributor Award – Honors an individual who has been actively engaged in engineering or technology and has individually contributed technical work resulting in significant breakthroughs.

  • Ingrid Liao, Intel Corporation – WE21

Rodney D. Chipp Memorial Award – Celebrates the work of a man or company who has made a significant contribution to the acceptance and advancement of women in engineering.

  • Scott Ashford, Ph.D., Oregon State University – WE19

Spark Award – Honors an individual who has contributed to the advancement of women by mentoring those around them.

  • Vikki Mueller Espinosa, Intel Corporation – WE18

Prism Award – Recognizes an individual who has charted her own path in the STEM fields by demonstrating a variety of outstanding career leadership activities in a technical field, as well as leadership in professional organizations and the community.​

  • Mandy Mock, Intel Corporation – WE20

Patent Recognition Award – Recognizes SWE members who have been awarded a patent within the previous three years from the award application deadline.

  • Cailee Caldwell, Nike – WE21
  • Carina Hahn, Intel Corporation – WE21
  • Carrie Davis, Nike – WE21
  • Christina Wood, Nike – WE21
  • Danielle Taylor, Nike – WE21
  • Denise Ponganis Mei, Nike – WE21
  • Holli Pheil, Nike – WE21
  • Jennifer Bishop, Nike – WE21
  • Margarita Cortez, Nike – WE21
  • Marina Feran, HP Inc. – WE21
  • Narissa Chang, Nike – WE21
  • Pamela Morison, HP Inc. – WE21
  • Taryn Hensley, Nike – WE21
  • Denica Larsen, Intel Corporation – WE20
  • Nikita Tiwari, Intel Corporation – WE20

WE Local New ELiTE – The WE Local New ELiTE Award honors women who have demonstrated outstanding technical performance, as well as leadership in SWE and the community, in the first ten (10) years of their careers.

  • 2022 – Nnennaya Udochu, Intel Corporation
  • ​2021 – Brianna LaBarge, Nike Air Manufacturing Innovation
  • 2021 – Beenish Zia, Intel Corporation
  • 2019 – Nikita Tiwari, Intel Corporation

WE Local ELiTE – The WE Local ELiTE Award honors women engineers who have been actively engaged in an engineering or technology profession and have ten (10) to fifteen (15) years of cumulative engineering experience.

  • ​2020 – Siri Akula, Intel Corporation